Love and the Holy Spirit

“But you, beloved, building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life.” Jude 20-21

“Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groaning too deep for words.” Romans 8:26-27

I used to hear people talk about being filled with the Holy Spirit so often that it started to become a cliché when I was younger. I always knew it was necessary but I didn’t truly understand why until the past few years. I used to hear people talk about it a lot and now I never hear anyone talk about it at all. Too many people are forgetting how important it is that we be filled with the Holy Spirit. The Spirit allows us to understand and helps us obey the teachings and instructions that Jesus left behind (Acts 1). For me, prayer is the main way I discover God’s will for me. It takes a while sometimes but when I look back I always see an answer. God never stops blessing us. I have heard it said that when someone is asking why they are not being blessed, the answer is that they are “not under the spout where the blessings come out.” If we feel that we are not being blessed, then it is not God deciding to punish us because we did something wrong; it is our fault for not being where we are supposed to be. We need to be constantly praying for guidance and for strength to go where we are told. There is no such thing as too much prayer and when you become a person of prayer, there is no possible way you won’t see God working. I know from experience that it is hard to get into the habit of praying, but I also know that once you do, it is the best feeling in the world.

“Pray at all times and on every occasion I the power of the Holy Spirit. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all Christians everywhere.” Ephesians 6:18

Leave a Reply

